Rested

22 Dec

I always tell people that my days revolve around when I get to sleep and eat. I literally wake up to my alarm and my first thoughts are when I can get back in bed and whether or not I can fit a nap in somewhere. Thanks to the generosity of my day job, I have been fortunate to have 2 weeks off for Christmas. And how do I capitalize on this time off you ask? Sleeping in. So far I have been off for 3 days and I have awakened no earlier than 10:00 a.m. This is unusual for me as I am mildly a morning person. I like to burn as much daylight as possible each day. But I think my body needs it.

I’m already noticing the benefits of getting a full 8 hours (or more in this case). My skin is clearer and softer. I have more energy throughout the day. I don’t even mind all the stressed out holiday shoppers who cut me off or honk when I don’t start driving one tenth of a second before the light turns green. Maybe folks with road rage just need a good siesta. My mind is quicker and despite having not taken my many vitamins and supplements I use to replace proper rest (I tend to flake without a schedule), I feel great!

Ah, sleep. I love you so. I’m gonna soak up as much as I can before my schedule reverts back from calm to chaotic. Where are all my sleep-loving friends? Everybody say zzzzzzzz!

Leave a comment