Hopeful

1 Jan

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Time to pull out the new calendar, wipe the slate clean and set new personal goals for a fresh new year. 2012 was an interesting year. It was marked by ups and downs. I kicked it off with a list of goals I wanted to accomplish in the areas of my business, finances, relationships and health. I typed it up, printed out multiple copies so I would have it in my face in as many places as possible, keeping my dreams before me. It’s funny how if something is in the same place for a long time you can overlook it. I went back to that list and realized I had accomplished less than half of what I’d written.

Now I could get upset and kick myself when I’m down, but I love the idea that with a new year comes a mulligan, a do over. The list I had before, fortunately, didn’t have a timetable that deemed me doomed by not accomplishing everything in 2012. So, for the 2013 list, I am merely changing the date on the original list with a few adjustments. There are a couple of new goals I have for 2013 that have come into the picture.

I hope you are making goals and resolutions for 2013. Even if you dropped the ball in 2012, you can always pick it back up. I rang in the new year with a good friend reflecting on on 2012 and how we can make adjustments to make this year our best one yet. We decided at the last moment it would be appropriate to take communion. Here is our makeshift communion of a broken baguette and apple juice (work with what you’ve got).

20130101-150851.jpg

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” – Isaiah 43:18-19

Leave a Reply

