Stylish

1 Jan

They say however you spend New Year’s Eve is how you will be spending the rest of the following year. I sure hope so! After about 3 weeks of planning and saving and texting, my friends Nicole, Marie and I ventured out on a consignment shopping extravaganza! We met in downtown Homewood sporting comfortable shoes and mental checklists of items we were on the hunt for.

Our first stop was Collage’s Homewood location. I used to venture here in high school when I was balling on a way small budget allowance, but wanted to maintain my mini-fashionista status. We were greeted with a smile and tour of the shop as we all 3 dispersed to our respective rack destinations. After trying on multiple pieces, I left with an adorable designer skirt with button details ($25) and Marie with a top.

Next we we made our way over a couple of blocks to d’Trespa Consignment Boutique. This was a new discovery for me. D’Trespa is a treasure trove of designer, gently used fashion. I didn’t realize how much inventory the owner had until I kept walking deeper and deeper into the store. There is a back room that features their vintage stock. I felt like I had walked into my great grandmother’s closet! Gra, as we called her, was my style icon. The sequins, gowns, hats and clutches took me back to playing dress up in her antique-filled home. Although we were mesmerized by what the vintage area had to offer, we had to keep our eyes on the prize. I left there with a sweater dress from Loft ($26).

We hopped in the car and took a short trek to Forest Park’s gem, Zoe’s. Zoe’s has been a go to for me for Halloween costumes in the past, but it, too, has plenty of stylish, on-trend consignment pieces. I left empty handed, but Marie left with another cute top.

After a quick bite at WhichWich (yum) we had to part from Marie who had mommy duties back at the ranch. Nicole and I continued to wave the sequined banner and made our way to a couple of Salvation Army locations where Nicole racked up on furniture, skirts and a top, and I got a New York and Company top for $2.99.

20130101-144752.jpg

Our final consignment stop was Collage’s Vestavia locale. I must say the customer service at Collage is fantastic. You leave feeling like you went shopping with a good friend who happens to work there, no matter which location. The owner, Tracy, allowed me to be a part of their weekly video series that kicks off in 2013. I talked about my best find of the day, a pair of UN-WORN Nine West pumps for $24! The videographer, second grader, Dalton, was a pleasure to work with as well. Nicole scored a gorgeous LBD for a great price.

20130101-144837.jpg

We closed out the evening satisfying our inner Maxxinista just before they closed their doors early for the night. Despite entering the store at 5:57, I managed to score two workout tanks and a sports bra before the doors locked at 6:00.

Phew!

I ended the year with new clothes and some leftover money to rollover into 2013.

2 Responses to “Stylish”

  1. Lisa B. January 1, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    Nice post, Karri! Sounds like a fun day. Thanks for writing about consignment shopping. I pass by d’Trespa every day and have been wanting to stop in sometime. Now you’ve encouraged me to do so!

    • Karri January 2, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

      It is definitely worth the visit! You will love it!

Leave a Reply

