#winning

15 Jan

inspiringblogaward

Yay me! Thanks to one of my favorite people, Sherri, for selecting my baby blog as a recipient of the Inspiring Blog Award. She inspires me daily from her blog that chronicles her weight loss journey, her encouraging words to others pursuing their goals on Facebook, and starting one of my most favorite new past times, Birmingham Dance Walk! Sherri gives the best hugs and makes me want to do a better job of being a doer and not just a thinker. The fact that my blog inspires her makes me heart happy.

My job now to is to do the following for my fellow bloggers and friends:

  • Display the award image on your blog. (check)
  • Link back to the person who nominated you. (check)
  • State 7 things about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 other bloggers and link to their sites.
  • Notify the bloggers that they have been nominated and link to the post.

About Moi:

  1. I forgot how to swim. Yes, it can be done, or undone, in my case. In preschool every Wednesday we would all take the bus to the downtown YMCA for swim lessons. I have vivid memories of diving off the diving board into the deep end and doggy paddling my way back to the edge of the pool only to run back to the board to do it all over again. I loved being in the water. After several years of not stepping foot in a pool after that, I found myself on the verge of drowning whenever I got beyond chest deep in water. I vow to re-learn how to swim without the aid of a noodle in the very near future.
  2. I’ve lost 50lbs. I grew up playing sports and living the life of a tomboy. In high school I did 200 crunches everyday and had a little 4-pack as a result. Fast-forward to college. My sedentary, music-major lifestyle coupled with mild depression from a horrible relationship led to me packing on the pounds. I am was an emotional eater, and an off again on again boyfriend with issues coupled with declining grades as a result of said boyfriend led me to drinking and eating excessively. After graduation, I reestablished my relationship with the Lord and the gym, and kicked that bad relationship to the curb. Food and I are still really good friends but I became besties with moderation.
  3. I love inspirational quotes. Sometimes all I need to get that swift kick in the rear to take action is a sentence or two from Lincoln, or Ghandi, or Oprah.
  4. I sleep with a stuffed animal. His name is Johnny and he’s a dog. I’ve had him since 4th grade. Judge me and I’ll punch you.
  5. My favorite word is Czechoslovakia. I love the way all the consonants flow out of my mouth.
  6. My celebrity crush is Justin Timberlake. I feel like if he met me it would be all over. And I’m a sucker for a guy who can dance.
  7. I constantly win random contests. From money, to cakes in cake walks to cars (yes, I said cars), I am a prize magnet! This is why I absolutely MUST be in attendance when The Price is Right comes to town! Plinko, here I come!

Blogs and Bloggers that Inspire:

  1. Same Chic Different Day
  2. All In Stride
  3. Carla Jean Whitley | Ink-Stained Life
  4. Marie Sutton Writes
  5. The Writeous Babe Project
  6. Media in Flux
  7. Fall Down Seven, Get Up Eight
  8. The Love Seat
  9. YouGotRossed
  10. The Preppy Princess
  11. Follow That Couch
  12. MagicCityMade
  13. Folkways Nowadays
  14. ArtBLT
  15. Write, Claire, write!

8 Responses to “#winning”

  1. tlsylvan January 15, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    Thank you so much Karri! I think Johnny and my Kian that I sleep with would be best friends 🙂 My celebrity crush was (and still is) Nick Carter, so we’ll have to agree to disagree there!

    • Karri January 15, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

      I love it! I was fond of Kevin from BSB. 😉

  2. Tamera January 16, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    I love your blog Karri! It makes my spirit smile as I think happy thoughts. Keep filling the world with good vibrations… 🙂

    • Karri January 16, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      Thanks Tamera! I do my best to spread sunshine wherever I go, including through my blog 🙂

  3. mariesuttonwrites January 16, 2013 at 1:35 am #

    Czechoslovakia, Czechoslovakia, Czechoslovakia!!! Translation: Thank you sooooo much.

  4. Audrey January 18, 2013 at 2:29 am #

    Karri is so very…sweet! Thank you so much for listing Folkways Nowadays. I love reading your blog as well!

  5. Carla Jean January 18, 2013 at 3:44 am #

    Aw, I just saw this! CJ is SO behind. (So behind that she hasn’t yet added you to her feed reader … fixing that NOW.)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. inspiration in the smallest of places | Fall Down Seven, Get Up Eight - January 25, 2013

    […]  It seems like that can’t be true, such a failure and a sinner on a regular basis!  But a sweet friend nominated me on her blog!  So here it […]

Leave a Reply

