Clear

25 Jan

Disclaimer: if you are squeamish regarding things of a female matter, you might want to skip the first couple of paragraphs.

I thought I wasn’t vain until about 6 months ago.

Back in 2010, I had surgery to remove two fibroid tumors. All has been well since, but I continued to take the birth control that was keeping everything regulated. Last year, in an effort to not consume anything synthetic, I decided to get off the birth control. Just keeping it real, I don’t need it anyway for the obvious reason one might take it.

After stopping cold turkey, I didn’t know what to expect. Cramps or random cycles, I wasn’t sure. To my utter horror, I end up with the worst case of acne I’ve ever experienced in my entire life. I’m talking I didn’t want to leave the house. As a teen, I was fortunate to have only the occasional pimple. But THIS, this was unacceptable! This Seinfield clip best depicts my reaction one morning while looking in the mirror.

I market for a skincare company, so I have a huge arsenal of cleansers, toners, creams, and exfoliants to help others with their skin ailments, but I wanted an emergency kit to basically scrape my face off and start all over. After calming down and realizing my situation was going to take patience and products, I went through my tool kit and figured out what would work for me. Now my face is almost 100% back to normal.

For anyone else who may be going through adult acne or a random breakout from a reaction to something, maybe this will help you, too.

  1. Cleanse, tone and moisturize. The healthy skin trinity. A misconception is that if you have oily skin you shouldn’t use a moisturizer. Actually, the correct moisturizer for your skin will keep moisture levels in check throughout the day.
  2. Drink lots of water. Duh. No really, a hydrated body works from the inside out keeping your skin supple and balances moisture.
  3. Exfoliate. Removes the top layer of dead skin cells. Find a gentle one that you can use weekly to treat yourself.

In addition to prescribing to the list above, I had to go the extra mile to get rid of some dark spots left over and get the clear face I had become accustomed to over the years. It took longer than I wanted, but then again I wanted my face clear immediately after looking in the mirror and finding someone that resembled a 13 year old. This was about a 3-4 month process, but part of it included getting my hormones back in check.

Anyone else trying to win the battle of adult acne?

20130125-143808.jpg

Artistry’s Illuminating Essence. Lightens up dark spots and gives that baby’s butt smoothness.

20130125-143822.jpg

Artistry’s Cream Luxury. Words cannot do justice for this moisturizer.

4 Responses to “Clear”

  1. Ruthie January 25, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    I’ve been being TOTALLY hippie and doing Oil Cleansing….;-)

    • Karri January 25, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

      I tried going a simpler route and my face was an oil slick. I am back down to 3 products, but I had to pull out all the stops when the Breakout of 2012 happened.

  2. Shermika January 26, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    I’ve been fortunate to never have to deal with acne. I am glad these products helped you out Karri! Thanks for sharing your story as well. And you know I LOVE a shameless plug 😉

    • Karri January 28, 2013 at 5:09 am #

      Ha! I promise I wasn’t trying to shamelessly plus myself. But if anyone is going through the same struggle I am available to help 😉

Leave a Reply

