Awestruck

4 Feb

A little over seven years ago, I was unemployed, depressed, lonely, frustrated and confused about what my future held. I had been laid off from my first job after the company I worked for got bought out. I was living alone in an apartment on Southside and decided to use my solitude and free time to fast and spend more time with God for 21 days. I would only watch tv in the mornings when Beth Moore was on and shut out all other entertainment distractions for the rest of the day. I didn’t have a job so I spent the rest of the day in prayer and reading the Bible. One morning while watching Beth Moore she had a special guest named Lisa Bevere on the show. Lisa cracked me up with her big personality and intrigued me with her knowledge of the Word as it related to everyday life.

That same day I went to Books-A-Million looking for any book I could find by her. I stumbled upon Kissed the Girls and Made Them Cry. I read the back of the book and it really spoke to me. The book discusses how to go from rules to relationship with God in regards to purity. Part of my loneliness at the time was rooted in seeking relationships to find fulfillment and validation. My past choices in friendships and men only created more of a void in my life.

I remember reading the book and feeling like I was seeing my life story on paper. Lisa’s life experiences mirrored mine in so many ways which gave me hope. At one point in the book she talks about realizing how valuable she is to God and in response takes communion. Just her and God. Right then I realized I would need to do the same. At the end of my fast I decided to close it out having communion. Welch’s grape juice and broken bagel bits in tow, I spent the final hour of my fast thanking God for His grace and mercy. All I remember is sobbing for an hour straight, not knowing why, but feeling like with each breath I was releasing all the hurt and fear that consumed me up until that point. I was never the same again.

Fast forward to this past weekend. I attended a leadership conference for my business and one of the main speakers was Lisa Bevere. I tweeted her early Friday and she responded that she wanted a hug!

20130204-153422.jpg

Yesss!

I promptly turned 14 and squealed. Thanks to my best friend, I had a front row, center seat for her talk. During her introduction I felt a lump in my throat. My friend told me not to get all “Michael Jackson fan” on him and freak out. I managed to act like a normal human being as I sat 10 feet from the woman who literally sparked one of the biggest transformations I’ve experienced thus far.

20130204-153444.jpg

Up close and personal with Lisa Bevere

After her amazing, hour long talk she left the stage and that evening’s session was complete. I made a beeline for her and waited for the chance to say hello. There was one person standing between my inspiration and me and he was taking too freakin long! Their conversation finally ended and I introduced myself. She pulled me in for the tightest hug. She asked where I was from and asked to hear about my story. She said we are sisters and felt we are related somehow. After a great conversation, Lisa Bevere asked if she could pray for me. Ummm, YES!!!! One billion times YES! She pulled me in for a hug and I began to lose it. Everything she spoke of was exactly what I am believing for this year. Afterward, I managed to not look a mess for a photo with her. After that, ugly crying ensued.

She spoke the following day at a worship service that I attended and I fortunately got to sit in my same seat from the day before. She once again turned it out! She unexpectedly asked me to come up front before hundreds of people to tell them why she means so much to me. I gave the Reader’s Digest version as to not bust out crying for the public. She then presented me with an audio of her latest book Lioness Arising!

20130204-153612.jpg

Basically, my day, week, MONTH was made this weekend.

 

20130204-153518.jpg

Lisa praying for me. I’m probably blinded by tears at this point.

20130204-153533.jpg

Somehow managing to look pretty good with watery eyes. Love this woman!

 

20130204-153506.jpg

Telling the abridged version of my story

7 Responses to “Awestruck”

  1. thejoshuamoore February 4, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    2013 is your year of Favor! I am so excited for how this year has started and I know we haven’t seen anything yet!

    • Karri February 4, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

      Amen, amen, amen!

  2. Carol Marks February 5, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    This is awesome. Thank you for sharing it with the rest of us. Inspirational indeed. I came in via the See Jane Write crowd. 🙂

    • Karri February 5, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

      Thanks! I’m glad you stopped by!

  3. mariesuttonwrites February 5, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    Karri, this is so awesome!!! (tearing up) What a wonderful testimony. And, imagine how much more God loves us and will, just like this weekend, pull us out of a crowd so that He can minister to us and shower us with His love. Hallelujah!!! God is so good and you, my friend, are a LIONESS ARISING!!!

    • Karri February 5, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

      Now you’re gonna make me cry!!!

  4. Same Chic Different Day February 5, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    Amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

