Absent

19 Mar

When I started this new blog I promised myself I wouldn’t make the same mistakes I did in my sordid, blogging past. I wouldn’t leave a bunch of unfinished drafts hanging. I wouldn’t abandon it for long periods of time. 4 blogs later I find that old habits die hard. But, rather than using my old excuse of laziness, I attribute my absence to plain old busyness. Work has picked up to a level that has me occasionally gasping for air to get back to a normal level of sanity from 8 to 5 or 6 or 7… Business has also picked up, but I never will complain about something that brings me so much joy (and extra dough).

The last month or so probably contains enough good content for about 5 blog posts. In addition to work, I’ve been hanging with beauty queens, taken a business trip to my third home, San Francisco, attended an awards ceremony, grubbed at a food truck festival and saw Prince (sort of) and all have kept me pretty occupied. But rather than write about it I figured I would let the photos tell the stories. So for your viewing pleasure, February and March thus far as told by an iPhone. Enjoy!

photo

Have pageant makeup, will travel. Some of the highlights of pageant season including Miss University of Alabama and Miss Oustanding Teen Alabama.

When in a pageant and prom store. Thank you Just for Looks in Cullman for making me feel purdy.

When in a pageant and prom store. Thank you Just for Looks in Cullman for making me feel purdy.

photo_2

Yay me! Got the honor of Outstanding Young Professional at the Best in Minority Business Awards.

photo_4

I think I have an inner cupcake honing device. I can find them everywhere I go, including San Francisco.

photo_3

An orange grows in Oakland. Delish oranges from my cousin’s backyard.

photo_5

Beautiful view and delicious food at Fisherman’s Wharf

photo_7

Being a tourist in San Francisco

photo_8

Heaven for me is a food truck festival. Catfish and grits from Shindigs, grilled cheese with mac n cheese from Melt and a skrawberry (yes, I said skrawberry) Italian ice. Yum. *There were others treats but I inhaled them before taking a photo.

photo_6

Dearly beloved, we are gathered here today to get through this thing called life. Black Jacket Symphony tearing up some Prince covers!

3 Responses to “Absent”

  1. tlsylvan March 20, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    Love all of the pics! I’m going to Monterey in May and will spend a day or two in San Fran, any suggestions on where to eat/what to see?

    • Karri March 22, 2013 at 3:28 am #

      Definitely head over to Fisherman’s Wharf for tasty, fresh seafood and tons of entertainment. You should also definitely take a run across the Golden Gate. My cousin does it regularly, but the whole running above water thing freaked me out. Enjoy your trip and be sure to blog about it with pictures!

      • tlsylvan March 22, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

        Thanks Karri! I will for sure run across the bridge, that’s a bucket list run of mine! And I LOVE seafood, so I’ll be sure to hit Fisherman’s Wharf!

Leave a Reply

