Determined

6 May

Recently I went to lunch with friend and fellow Blogger, Alexis. We chatted about how much we love food and how our shared addiction has created a need for us to burn some calories as warmer weather and shorter sleeves approach. To motivate ourselves we’ve started using the tag #teamtwopiece. I thought of it after making an impromptu J. Crew ruched, bandeau bikini top purchase. I couldn’t resist the sale price reduced from $42 to $9. After hitting the checkout button I experienced buyer’s remorse when I realized that the little pudge I’ve stored from winter was not ready for public viewing. However, instead of quickly calling J. Crew and nixing my order, I decided to use that cute, peacock colored top to encourage me to get back to my roots of eating healthier and regularly working out.

For over a year I was a pescatarian, which means the only meat I ate came from a body of water. I can honestly say that was the best I’ve ever felt. Mostly sticking to salmon, tuna, shrimp, and crab I got a health dose of omega-3 and protein. The lighter fish also helped me not feel heavy and weighed down after I ate. During this time I also discovered that carbs really aren’t the enemy I thought they were toward my body, it was fat. Everyone is different, but for my body, fatty foods make me pack on the pounds at an alarming rate. Seafood is the best source of fats for the way my body works.

While I was practicing pescatarianism, I also started taking a spin class at Gold’s Gym. This wasn’t your typical spin class, it’s called RPM. RPM is a Les Mills interval style of cycling that is driven by the beats in the music. My kind of class. I became addicted from day one thanks to the amazing music and fabulous instructor turned good friend, Ruth! My body responded so well to RPM and weight training. Every picture I see from last summer I think to myself, DANG, I look good!

I got out of these habits thanks to a crazier than usual work schedule and life. As I write this I realize that the bikini top has caused me to take my life back in so many ways. With it’s purchase I booked a much needed vacation to Miami. A true vacation that is on my own terms has been a long time coming. The top has forced me to start eating healthier again and (gasp) cooking again. I have started using MyFittnessPal again to track my food and exercise. And although I got kicked out of Gold’s (long and funny story for another time), I have decided to take spin classes at the gym I actually belong to. Thank you bikini top!

#teamtwopiece is in full effect!

 

11 Responses to “Determined”

  1. Laura Gallitz May 6, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

    Congrats! I’m also on My Fitness Pal. I’m tuckergallitz if you want to follow.

    • Karri May 6, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      I’m about to request you now!

  2. Hope May 6, 2013 at 11:14 pm #

    I hear ya! Good luck. You can follow me on my fitness pal under hopenee

    • Karri May 7, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

      I just sent your a request! Yay!

  3. Hope Jones May 6, 2013 at 11:22 pm #

    Yeah! I am using My Fitness Pal too. hope nee if you want to follow me

  4. thejoshuamoore May 7, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

    Im so glad I drug you to your first spin class….lol

    • Karri May 7, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

      Me too! Albeit kicking and screaming almost. Haha!

      • Chris May 7, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

        Awesome post! Inspires me (at least for the moment) to quit eating doughnuts and candy bars….. Veggies here I come, again!!

      • Karri May 8, 2013 at 5:27 am #

        Haha! After kicking major butt in the ring you’re entitled to a few sugary treats, right?

  5. Wade Kwon June 6, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

    A great goal with a deadline and motivation — that is admirable. Good luck and have fun in Miami!

    • Karri June 6, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

      Thanks Wade! So far so good!

Leave a Reply

