Certifiable

4 Jul

Almost 2 years ago, I walked into my first Les Mills RPM class. I was scared, anxious and slightly angry at my friend, Josh, for convincing me to take the class. You see, whenever I would see people leaving spin classes at my regular gym, they always looked like they had just left a one hour tour of hell. I really wasn’t into the idea of going on said tour. So I reluctantly agreed to take the class. Me being the competitor that I am I went full force, going as fast as possible where required and stomping it out on the hills.  I was easy on myself with the resistance knob, but kept it honest for the most part. I was sweating like I had never sweat before. The music was thumping some of my favorite dance and house songs. By the end of class I was cheesing so hard. I had fallen in love with RPM.

After the class the instructor told me I looked strong on the bike. I told her that was funny because one, I had never taken a cycling class before and two, I had never learned to ride a bike. Yes, you read that correctly. After about four or five months of taking the class three days a week, my instructor turned friend, Ruth, asked if I had ever considered teaching. Without hesitation I said YES! There has always been a part of me that is very much into health and fitness. I considered getting certified to teach pilates and Zumba a couple of times. But I found my passion in RPM. Seriously, I can’t help but smile on the bike even though my quads and hamstrings are screaming at me. The music is amazing and pushes you to keep going until the end.

The road to certification was long. Les Mills has training  all over the US throughout the year for their many classes. Unfortunately for me, they always fell on weekends where I was out of town for one reason or another. I watched as two of my friends got certified to teach while I waited for an available weekend. The delay was even causing me to question if I would be suitable to teach, if I had the fitness level and energy. Finally, at the moment when I  had almost given up on the idea, they announced a training weekend where I would be in town and it was only a 30 minute drive away!

The night before I couldn’t sleep and I didn’t really want to eat. I was sooo nervous. It didn’t help that I spent 3 hours at the DMV which only added to my anxiety. Fortunately I was able to get a decent night’s sleep. The weekend was incredibly physically and mentally demanding. Thankfully I was surrounded by a great group of future instructors who were extremely encouraging and equally as nervous. By the end of each day I was soaking wet, wiped out, and sore in places I never knew could get sore. The weekend ended with the declaration that I was certified to teach RPM! Not gonna lie, I got a little weepy, but kept it cool because it didn’t appear that anyone was as moved by this as I was.

This was just the beginning for me. Certification was the first step in process of getting to teach my own class one day. For now I sub for some of the instructors a few times a month. I am proud that I endured something so physically demanding to completion. I realized that if I convince my head that my body can do something, I can actually do it.

Leave a Reply

