Blogtastic!

4 Aug

See Jane Write Bham

Just when I needed some new life breathed into my desire to truly take my blogging seriously, along comes See Jane Write’s Bloganista Mini-Con.

See Jane Write is an organization of local women bloggers, formed by my friend Javacia. I met Javacia a few years ago after stalking her blog. While attending a screening of a film in town, I saw her and introduced myself in a way as to sound as un-creepy as possible. “Hey, I know you. You don’t know me. But I know everything about you because of your blog.” Thankfully, she wasn’t weirded out by me and we became real-life friends.

I’ve watched See Jane Write grow from a group that took up two tables at a restaurant, to a gathering of women that fills a large conference room space. Javacia inspires and challenges me. And her brainchild’s latest event did not fail to deliver.

The Bloganista Mini-Con featured guest speakers and panelists, delicious treats and awesome door prizes. If you’re a blogger, thinking of starting a blog, or you’re considering resurrecting a blog that’s been dormant for too long, you should definitely consider attending next year’s event, or one of the other See Jane Write events.

My takeaways from the conference were abundant, but I’ll just humor you with the high points:

  • Take myself seriously and recognize that I am a brand
  • My “brand” should be cohesive all around. (Soverykarri’s purpose, as a blog and a person, is to inspire, engage and entertain.)
  • Get non-work business cards that feature my blog and other social media channels
  • Don’t be afraid to push products on my blog. My business is a part of me and my brand. Take myself and my business seriously.
  • Be the consistency in an inconsistent world
  • Schedule posts utilizing a content calendar (this will help me stay accountable to my goals and realistic about my schedule)
  • Support other bloggers/content creators
  • Remember who I am writing for. There are people who thrive off of my joy. Don’t put my light under a bowl.

Soverykarri
Inspire. Engage. Entertain.

7 Responses to “Blogtastic!”

  1. Kristin August 4, 2015 at 10:32 am #

    Love your takeaways! And I love that you’re writing more consistently again. Your voice is strong and encouraging, and I can’t wait to see where it takes you! Xoxo

    • Karri August 4, 2015 at 12:08 pm #

      Appreciate you! This weekend I discovered how must I love storytelling. Gonna keep truckin’ along and see where it goes.

  2. Jeniese August 4, 2015 at 7:45 pm #

    I am so glad we got to meet each other! Loved your take aways. I had a few off the same ones myself!

    • Karri August 4, 2015 at 8:04 pm #

      So good to meet you as well! Looking forward to the MANY awesome new adventures you’ll be posting about in the near future!

  3. Karri August 4, 2015 at 12:13 pm #

    Thanks for sharing you experience and including mine on your blog! Hope to see you at future events!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Questions for a Bloganista | Rodney's Saga - August 4, 2015

    […] Beyond: See Jane Write Bloganista Mini-Con at CaliBama Belle Bloganista Mini-Con Recap at Pink Lux Blogtastic! at Karri is so […]

  2. What you had to say about The Bloganista Mini-Con - See Jane Write - August 6, 2015

    […] especially enjoyed the recap by Karri Bentley of Karri So Very. Karri actually attended the very first See Jane Write event ever, which held March 24, 2011. In […]

Leave a Reply

